+1 (770) 278-7000


For Immediate Release

June 22, 2023

Rockdale County Commissioner Doreen Williams Appointed to ACCG Standing Committee on Mental Health & Substance Abuse

ROCKDALE COUNTY, Ga. – Commissioner Doreen Williams was recently appointed to the ACCG Standing Committee on Mental Health & Substance Abuse for the Association of County Commissioners of Georgia (ACCG or Georgia’s County Association). Established by current ACCG President and Baldwin County Commissioner Henry Craig, the Committee is tasked with creating an information clearinghouse for all 159 Georgia counties to equip them with resources to address the complex mental health issue.

“Mental health challenges are often a crisis for most local communities. As counties are the closest constitutional government to their constituents, we are on the front line of reform efforts,” said ACCG President Henry Craig. “The work of the ACCG Standing Committee on Mental Health & Substance Abuse will serve as one of many contributions to encourage statewide renewal of policy and resources to address the prevalent issue of care for Georgians with mental illness and substance addiction.”

Chaired by Forsyth County Commissioner Cindy Mills, Committee members will work to create a clearinghouse for counties to share and access information on best practices for serving citizens with mental illnesses and substance abuse disorders. It comprises five subcommittees: Public Safety (Sheriffs/Law Enforcement, 911, EMS); Data/Evaluation/Mapping; Courts: Mental Health, Drug, Probate, and Juvenile (DFACS); Resources: Funding, Workforce, and Facilities; and Community Partnerships. Doreen Williams will co-chair the Community Partnerships Subcommittee with Dawson County Commissioner Chris Gaines. The work of the full Committee will also help counties identify critical local, state, and federal resources; establish effective initiatives; and create impactful partnerships.

“It is such a privilege to serve on the ACCG Mental Health Committee, and to serve as a co-chair of the subcommittee, Community Partnerships,” says Commissioner Williams, “Commissioner Chris Gaines of Dawson County and I will work diligently to gather and record best practices in community partnerships regarding mental health treatment and support for those with behavioral health issues. “

Members of the Mental Health Committee include Forsyth County Commissioner Cindy Mills (Committee Chair), Hall County Commissioner Kathy Cooper, Dougherty County Commissioner Clinton Johnson, Chatham County Commissioner Helen Stone, Dawson County Commissioner Chris Gaines, DeKalb County Commissioner Larry Johnson, Gwinnett County Commissioner Jasper Watkins, Sgt. Terry Hawkins of the Forsyth County Sheriff’s Office, Cook County Commissioner Audie Rowe, and Rockdale County Commissioner Doreen Williams.

The Committee convened its first meeting on June 21, 2023, at the Baldwin County Government Office in Milledgeville.

ACCG is Georgia’s county association and works for county officials and their communities by providing public policy and legislative advocacy, leadership development, civic and community engagement initiatives, insurance and retirement programs specializing in local government needs, and other cost-saving programs. Formed in 1914 when county officials came together to help fund the state’s first highway department, ACCG today catalyzes advancing Georgia’s counties.

For more information, go to www.accg.org.